## PROPOSED BYLAW AMENDMENTS RE: TERMS OF OFFICE AND COMMITTEE PARTICIPATION/APPOINTMENTS

<u>Current text pertaining to officer positions</u> (beginning on page 2 of BRPC's Bylaws):

- D. Commission Organization
  - D.1. Each year at the first meeting after July 1, but to be held no later than August 31st, the Commission shall elect from among its membership a Chair, Vice Chair, Clerk, and Treasurer. If any of these positions becomes vacant, the Commission shall elect at its next meeting a delegate or alternate to fill the position until the next annual election. To ensure continuity of operation, the Chair, Vice-Chair, Clerk, and Treasurer shall be eligible to continue to serve in that capacity, until the first meeting after July 1, even though they may no longer be an elected member of a planning or community development board or have been appointed as an alternate by the city or town.

<u>Current text pertaining to nominating of officers by the Commission Development Committee</u> (beginning on page 5 of BRPC's Bylaws):

D.10.2. The Commission Development Committee shall consist of at least four (4) members. It shall consider Commission education, membership, structure, and process, including periodic evaluation of the performance of the Commission. Periodically, the Committee shall also review the Commission's bylaws to determine whether amendments are needed to enhance the operations of the Commission.

A nominating subcommittee of the Committee, comprised only of delegates and alternates and consisting of at least three members, shall recommend a slate of officer candidates for the next fiscal year. Such slate of candidates shall reflect the Commission's desire to rotate officers and be representative of all areas of the region. Such slate shall be provided to delegates and alternates at least 14 days prior to the first meeting after July 1 of each year.

## **Proposed Revisions:**

- D. Commission Organization
  - D.1. Positions of Chair, Vice Chair, Clerk, and Treasurer shall be filled for two-year terms. During election years, at the first meeting after July 1, but to be held no later than August 31st, the Commission shall elect from among its membership a Chair, Vice Chair, Clerk, and Treasurer. If any of these positions become vacant, the Commission shall elect at its next meeting a delegate or alternate to fill the position until the next bi-annual election. To ensure continuity of operation, the Chair, Vice-Chair, Clerk, and Treasurer shall be eligible to continue to serve in that capacity until the first meeting after July 1 of their second year holding an officer position, even though they may no longer be an elected member of a planning or community development board or have been appointed as an alternate by the city or town.
    - D.10.2. The Commission Development Committee shall consist of at least four (4) members. It shall consider Commission education, membership, structure,

and process, including periodic evaluation of the performance of the Commission. Periodically, the Committee shall also review the Commission's bylaws to determine whether amendments are needed to enhance the operations of the Commission.

A nominating subcommittee of the Committee, comprised only of delegates and alternates and consisting of at least three members, shall recommend a slate of officer candidates for the next fiscal year. Such slate of candidates shall reflect the Commission's desire to rotate officers and be representative of all areas of the region. Such slate shall be provided to delegates and alternates at least 14 days prior to the first meeting after July 1 of every other year.

## Current text pertaining to committee appointments (beginning on page 3 of BRPC's Bylaws):

D.8. The Commission may establish at any time special and standing committees, which are empowered to make recommendations to the Executive Committee and the Commission. The members of such committees and their duties shall be clearly defined and recorded in the minutes of the meeting at which such a committee is authorized. Each committee shall establish operating practices, keep minutes, and report their recommendations to the Commission or Executive Committee, as appropriate. Each committee shall have a chair, who shall be a delegate or alternate, appointed by the Commission Chair, subject to approval by the Commission, except that the Commission Chair shall serve as Executive Committee chair. To ensure continuity of committee operations, except for the Executive Committee, if a committee chair position becomes vacant, the committee vice-chair shall assume the position of committee chair. If no vice-chair exists, the Executive Director may serve as interim chair until a new chair is appointed and approved. The Commission Chair, in consultation with the committee chair, shall appoint members of committees. Non-Commission members may be appointed to any committee, except the Executive Committee, when their participation would enhance the activities of a particular committee. Such non-Commission members shall be full voting members of the committee to which they are named, but they shall not make up a majority of the membership of any committee. The Commission may exempt this requirement. To ensure continuity of operation, committee members shall be eligible to continue to serve in that capacity until the first meeting after July 1, even though they may no longer be an elected member of a planning or community development board or have been appointed as an alternate by the city or town.

## **Proposed Revision:**

D.8. The Commission may establish at any time special and standing committees, which are empowered to make recommendations to the Executive Committee and the Commission. The members of such committees and their duties shall be clearly defined and recorded in the minutes of the meeting at which such a committee is authorized. Each committee shall establish operating practices, keep minutes, and report their recommendations to the Commission or Executive Committee, as appropriate. Each committee shall have a chair, who shall be a delegate or alternate, appointed by the Commission Chair, subject to approval by the Commission, except that the Commission Chair shall serve as Executive Committee chair. To ensure continuity of committee operations, except for the Executive Committee, if a

committee chair position becomes vacant, the committee vice-chair shall assume the position of committee chair. If no vice-chair exists, the Executive Director may serve as interim chair until a new chair is appointed and approved. The Commission Chair, in consultation with the committee chair, shall appoint members of committees. Non-Commission members may be appointed to any committee, except the Executive Committee, when their participation would enhance the activities of a particular committee. Such non-Commission members shall be full voting members of the committee to which they are named, but they shall not make up a majority of the membership of any committee. The Commission may exempt this requirement. To ensure continuity of operation, committee members shall be eligible to continue to serve in that capacity until the first meeting after July 1 of their second year of committee service, even though they may no longer be an elected member of a planning or community development board or have been appointed as an alternate by the city or town.